Scottish Supporters Network

Hosted by Supporters Direct Scotland

Strengthening Scottish Football
SDS Logo

Congratulations To All The Scottish Champions!

Date: 30th April 2018

It was a busy weekend as Celtic, Ayr United and Montrose joined St Mirren in claiming their league title trophies for this season.

The Saints claimed their Scottish Championship triumph with a few games to spare. The Paisley side have been fantastic under Jack Ross this term and now they’ll be preparing for top flight football after the summer.

They won their league championship by twelve points and scored more than any of their rivals. Their exciting performances have won them plenty of plaudits, with both young forwards Cammy Smith and Lewis Morgan (on loan from Celtic) getting nods in the Championship Player of the Year award, with Morgan winning last night.

Buddies boss Jack Ross has also won plenty of admirers and was offered the chance to take up the helm at both Dundee and Barnsley. But he rejected those offers and excellently guided his team to glory this year.

Ross won the PFA Manager of the Year award beating Celtic’s Brendan Rodgers, Kilmarnock’s Steve Clarke and Hibs boss Neil Lennon to the accolade.

Rodgers won’t be too upset at missing out as he won his second Premiership title in a row and his club’s seventh. They did it in style, with a 5-0 win over rivals Rangers enough to clinch the title this weekend.

The Hoops have once again dominated the top tier table, scoring seventy goals and only conceding twenty-three in their thirty-five league games so far.

Celtic have achieved this with plenty of Scottish faces in their squad with the likes of Scott Brown, Leigh Griffiths, Craig Gordon, Kieran Tierney, Callum McGregor and Stuart Armstrong all playing a big part in retaining the Scottish Premiership trophy.

The Glasgow giants continue to look unstoppable, with only Motherwell (in the Scottish Cup final) standing in their way of unique back to back treble.

On Saturday, Ayr United dramatically won the Scottish League One trophy.

Raith Rovers were top of the table heading into the last league fixture of the campaign but the Kirkcaldy side were held to a goalless draw with Alloa Athletic and the Ayrshire side won their game against Albion Rovers.

That win at Somerset Park secured promotion and Ian McCall and his players will return to the Scottish Championship next term. Ayr United scored a remarkable ninety-two times in just thirty-six encounters!

The Honest Men’s gaffer was clearly delighted with his teams exploits:

“I don’t think anybody can deny we were the best side in the league,”

In Scotland’s bottom tier, it was Montrose that were declared the champions as they pipped Peterhead to the honour by just a single point.

it’s only the second time the Links Park side have won a league title.

Manager Stewart Petrie guided the Angus team to twenty-three victories in this campaign and they didn’t lose in their last five outings as they charged towards the finishing line.

All four clubs deserved their triumphs this year and can now sit back and enjoy that victory feeling. Then they’ll need to get ready for what next season brings and hope they can once again enjoy a successful campaign!

By Scott Johnston (

Posted in: Latest News